Goody Two Shoes

I’ve always been pretty straight laced. Don’t get me wrong- I’m far from perfect; I’ve made my share of mistakes. But growing up, I tried to stay out of trouble. I have never smoked…no cigarettes (right or left handed), cigars, or otherwise. I have never done drugs. I was always scared that as soon as I “lit up” that I would get caught. The worse case scenario was the I would partake of something that was laced with another substance, and I would end up a vegetable- one blink ‘yes,’ two blinks ‘no.’ I love wine, but I’m a light weight. Two drinks and I’m ready for bed. So I never really “went wild.”

Overall I have taken good care of my body. I wear sunscreen, I try to stay active, and I try not to “indulge” too often. So when my doctor sent me for some tests, I didn’t have any reason to expect the worst. But after an irregular mammogram, things started to appear a little concerning. A mammary biopsy two days later left me waiting for the other shoe to drop. And drop it did.

On April 4, 2016, I received the news that I was dreading. The tumor was positive- a mammary carcinoma- stage 1, grade 1. The doctor said it was the best scenario of a bad situation. Thankfully I had found it early- approximately 1 cm- and I was a prime candidate for a lumpectomy. I was able to breath a little bit easier knowing that I wouldn’t have to undergo a mastectomy. The surgery was scheduled for 11 days later.

Next: The Surgery

Leave a comment